June 28, 2024

Ottawa, ON – Pickleball Canada held it’s Annual General Meeting held by video conference on Thursday, June 27, 2024. During this meeting Pickleball Canada’s membership voted to elect eight directors from a slate of fourteen total nominees. 

The newly elected members include:

  1. Wendy Pattenden, Surrey, B.C
  2. Geoffery Biss, Shelburne, ON
  3. Lester Esteban, Saskatoon, SK
  4. Mark Borgares, Regina, SK
  5. Luc Grenon, Thornbury, ON
  6. Ronald Marion, Windsor, ON
  7. David Perfetti, Ottawa, ON
  8. Steven Sagal, Regina, SK

“I am very pleased with the composition of Pickleball Canada’s Board of Directors”, said President Val Vollmin. “Our new Nominating Sub-Committee received and processed a number of excellent applicants and provided support and guidance to our membership throughout the process, resulting in an election result that identified a very strong group of people to lead the continued growth of pickleball in Canada.” 

Pickleball Canada also took time during the Annual General Meeting to acknowledge and applaud the very good work done by the departing Pickleball Canada Board of Directors – Cynthia Clark, Dave Edwards and Chuck MacDonald, who have all volunteered countless hours to develop the sport during its exponential growth rate across Canada.

Pickleball Canada’s Board of Directors provide an overall strategic direction and leadership for the organization to develop the sport of pickleball nationally. As pickleball remains the fastest growing sport worldwide with almost 70,000 Pickleball Canada members and growing. Pickleball Canada looks to support this membership by hosting national and regional events, while administering programs to promote and grow pickleball across the country. Pickleball Canada’s mandate and purpose is to develop and sustain a dynamic, integrated Canadian system that promotes participation, competition, and excellence in pickleball.

The 2024 – 2025 Pickleball Canada Board of Directors is as follow:

PresidentVal VollminEckville, AB
Director-at-LargeLuc GrenonThornbury, ON
Director-at-LargeRod HamiltonCourtenay. BC
Director-at-LargeBrian RychlickiWinnipeg, MB
Director-at-LargeEileen McCleanSt. Albert, AB
Director-at- LargeBryan MerrittThunder Bay, ON
Director-at-LargeSteven SagalRegina, SK
Director-at-LargeWendy PattendenSurrey, BC
Director-at-LargeGeoffery BissShelburne, ON
Director-at-LargeLester EstebanSaskatoon, SK
Director-at-LargeMark BorgaresRegina, SK
Director-at-LargeRonald MarionWindsor, ON
Director-at-LargeDavid PerfettiOttawa, ON
Regional Director BC & YukonHeather HoodVictoria, BC
Regional Director AtlanticAlden BriggsFredericton, NB
Regional Director QuebecFrance EmeryLaval, QC
Regional Director OntarioJunior BentWhitby, ON