Pickleball Canada Announces Changes to the Board of Directors

November 16, 2022

(OTTAWA, ON) – Pickleball Canada would like to share some recent changes to the Pickleball Canada Board of Directors. The changes include:

  1. Peter Milovanovic, Markham, ON, replaces Karen Rust as President.
  2. Leigh Bradwell, Toronto, ON, moves to one of the two VP positions.
  3. Karen Rust, Regina, SK, moves to the Treasurer position.
  4. Debra Downing, Shediac, NB, who is new to the Board, fills a Director at Large position that was vacated by Cara Button, Calgary, AB. 

“I am honoured to be asked to serve our members. I am looking forward to working with our staff team, and with the tremendous volunteers on our Board, our Provinces and Territories and our clubs. Together we will continue to grow our sport across the country to make it truly a sport for All, for Life”, said new President Peter Milovanovic.

The role of Pickleball Canada’s Board of Directors is to provide overall strategic direction, leadership, and stability for the organization. The Board establishes the overall mission and purpose for the organization and is responsible for a number of key governance-related activities. These include approving the appointment of – and providing direction to – the senior leadership team as well as the development and adoption of organizational policies, financial oversight, and approval of the annual budget.

Pickleball remains the fastest growing sport worldwide, with over 1 million pickleball players across Canada, and over 43,000 Pickleball Canada members, and the number is expected to continue to significantly increase in the coming years. Pickleball Canada has national and regional pickleball championships and administers programs to promote and grow pickleball across the country. Pickleball Canada’s mandate and purpose is to develop and sustain a dynamic, integrated Canadian system that promotes participation, competition, and excellence in pickleball.

The 2022-2023 Pickleball Canada Board of Directors is as follows:

President – Peter Milovanovic, Markham, ON
Vice President – Leigh Bradwell, Toronto, ON
Vice President – Deanna Christie, Kingston, ON
Treasurer – Karen Rust, Regina, SK
Secretary – Jacqueline Clarke, Vancouver, BC
Director-at-Large – Dave Best, Ottawa, ON
Director-at-Large – Cynthia Clark, Calgary, AB
Director-at-Large – Jon de la Mothe, Toronto, ON
Director-at-Large – Debra Downing, Shediac, NB
Director-at-Large – Robert Hogue, Saint-Stanislas-de-Kostka, QC
Director-at-Large – Rose Sawatzky, Morden, MB
Director-at-Large – Alan Thomson, Victoria, BC
Director-at-Large – Peter Walker, Calgary, AB
Regional Director British Columbia & Yukon – Barry Montgomery, Vernon, BC
Regional Director Prairies – Doug Fogg, Edmonton, AB
Regional Director Ontario – Gail Prior, Mt. Brydges, ON
Regional Director Quebec – France Emery, Laval, QC
Regional Director Atlantic – Pat Morrison, Inverness, NS

For more information, please contact:
Peter Milovanovic